top of page

Hey Gen Z, Are You Awake Yet?


The world is in a pretty weird place right now. For us Gen Z-ers, this turbulent season feels like more of a slap in the face than an appropriate introduction into the adult world. I get it's scary. I'm scared too. I'm having to really push myself toward faith, trust and positivity, too. All that aside, there are bigger fish to fry here. There are lives at stake and it's time for us to wake the heck up.


This right here is why our parents kept pushing us to have a stable savings account. This right here is why we are encouraged to pursue practical majors. This is why everyone tried to warn us about the struggles of 2008. This is why people keep saying that our diet and our health matter for more reasons than just physical appearance. This was what we thought would, "never happen to us." THIS. RIGHT. HERE. is our reality.


Now, in no way do I think that a deadly virus is a good thing but it's happening and it's about time we start thinking about what we, as a generation, are doing really well and not well at all. I've watched my friends ignore the suggestions of isolation, I've talked to peers with no idea what's going on in the news, I have caught myself avoiding responsibility because it feels too scary to take real action. Sound familiar?


Truth bomb -- WE are killing people. WE are spreading a deadly virus. WE are more concerned with our night out than we are our next-door neighbor. I get that we're the generation that gets a trophy for everything and can talk or fight our way out of pretty much any consequence but we can't talk our way out of illness or economic collapse. We are also the generation that stands up, speaks out and has already changed the world for the better in so many ways. NOW is the time to start taking responsibility for our bodies, our finances, our families and our future.


In no way do I want to spread or encourage fear or anxiety but what I do want is to see my peers and myself step up and be there for the community that has been there for us for 20+ years. I want us to reach out, look up (in more ways than one) and post/speak confidently about what we can add to our community during these hard times. My specific age group has been considered a "gray area," swimming right in the middle of Gen Z and millennial generations. Up until this year, most of our responsibilities have been fairly limited.


I keep hearing that what we really need is a "wake-up call" to show us what real responsibility looks like and maybe this is just that. While most of us are not considered at "high-risk" of getting sick with COVID19, every single one of us has someone we love that is considered high risk. Turns out, new information and statistics about COVID say our generation is in way more danger than we originally thought. We are in an incredibly unique situation that allows us to press into quality time, compassion, empathy and service.


I am proud to be a part of our generation. We are a passionate, strong, driven group with the potential to do amazing things. So, let's get on it. Let's remember the potential we really have. This is prime time to show those older than us what we're made of and for the LOVE of all things healthy and holy, PLEASE listen to our leaders and follow their suggestions. Wouldn't you rather look back and say, "Dang, remember when we way over-reacted to the Coronavirus" than, "I kick myself every day for not taking that seriously."


Are you awake yet? Is this the wake-up call we all really needed? Great! Now let's do something about it.


Lastly, remember, "God has not given us the spirit of fear and timidity but of power, love and self-discipline." 2 Timothy 1:7



bottom of page