top of page

Being Faithful and Being Successful Are Not Mutually Exclusive


I became a practicing Christian my first year of college. I grew up attending church on the major holidays and praying when something was REALLY bad but never had a relationship with God. The true beginning of my walk in faith was kinda like the first time I rode a rollercoaster, it was really easy for me to ignore the slight neck pain and a long wait in line because of the extreme, fast-paced, exhilarating reward at the end. But, as anyone who's experienced a similar sensation can tell you, the rollercoaster does slow down and eventually, your day at the park looks a little less exciting. While my faith is something that still encourages me and excites me daily, it's a marathon, not a sprint and some days are harder than others. Some days, I really feel the neck pain.


Toward the end of the second semester of my first year at UNC, I started to get asked a few of the same questions and overhear a few of the same criticisms. Some of these include but surely were not limited to:


1. "For someone that's always cared so much about your career and grades, I hope this 'Jesus' thing doesn't distract you."


2. "That's great and all but make sure you don't lose sight of the real reason you're there [college]."


3. "Don't put religious leadership as experience on your resume, you could make someone really not want to hire you. Thanks for all you do, though."


Needless to say, these comments made me get pretty self-conscious and equally defensive and in more environments than one, I stopped talking about my faith. People that I claimed to love and value as friends were missing out on a huge part of my life and as time passed, we grew apart.


As I look back on that pretty confusing season of life, I kick myself, not just for the way I let stupid (yes, stupid) comments impact me but for not sitting down long enough to think about the fact that having a faith and relationship with God is more important than anything else and those around me who don't see that may not have been given the opportunity to know Jesus as I have. I also kick myself for not actively working to tell the "youngers" in my life that you CAN be successful and care about your career WHILE having a great relationship with your faith. So here we are;


To any of you out there feeling like you have to make a decision between faith and your passions or career, STOP. You can have a successful job, be a successful student and work hard for worldly treasures while still loving Jesus and using those treasures to glorify him.


I strive daily to be the kind of Christian that doesn't have to tell others what I believe because they see those beliefs in the way I act and treat my peers and strangers alike. This comes from knowing a Jesus who loves all and values all regardless of their beliefs, their background or their nasty comments about my resume.


So hear me out -- if God made you to be someone gifted in business, communication, art, music, accounting, management, writing, teaching, producing, marketing, etc. Why would he not want you to kick BUTT in that profession? It's not an either/or it's a matter of what you plan to do with that success. If the money and resources you've worked for are used to love others, love your family and support your community isn't that the EXACT mission of Jesus?

You being a Christian is an asset to your office, an asset to your campus, an asset to your classroom.

There are many reasons why those around you may choose to talk about their faith or lack thereof and while I do not think you should force them to believe the same things as you, showing them a successful life driven by the power of faith is outreach in itself.


On the very likely chance that my thoughts aren't enough (PLEASE don't let them be enough) -- check out these much more credible words.


+ Deuteronomy 8:18 But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your forefathers, as it is today.


+ James 4:10  Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you.


+ Proverbs 16:3 Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.


I am a Christian who does really care about her grades, her future and her (multiple) jobs but who works daily to live out her faith in all she does, class and work included. My faith and my success are NOT mutually exclusive and I stand by that. Whether you agree with this or don't, think I should have written this blog post or not, or struggle with the same things yourself, let's talk about it. Maybe we both could stand to learn a thing or two about better balancing our own lives.



bottom of page