top of page

A Backward Intoduction




I'm a research kinda gal. Before I walk into something new, I make sure I have all of the facts straight. I get this trait from my momma in case you really wanted to know. A few weeks ago, I was asked to start a blog for one of my classes. I started bouncing the idea off of my friends and most of them said the same thing, "start with an introduction and go from there." I ignored them. The other thing I heard a lot of is to write about what I'm passionate about. I decided that was a better place to start. So here we are, backtracking a little with an abnormal yet much-needed introduction.


My name is Ally (I'm hoping you were able to use context clues to figure that one out). I am a junior at UNC-Chapel Hill graduating in December of 2020. I am studying advertising and public relations in the Hussman School of Journalism and Media with minors in entrepreneurship and information sciences. Believe it or not, it's pretty easy for me to get excited about something but if I was to summarize my over-arching passion into one word it would be "people." I love people. Their actions rarely make sense. Their emotions are unpredictable. And their hearts are huge.

While this blog isn't going to be pointed in one specific direction, I can promise you one thing; I will write consistently about the people, places and things that make me want to talk your ear off. Before we really dive into those topics, here are a few rather different things you may not know about me.


  1. Starting at the age of approximately nine, every time I would throw a coin into a fountain or blow out a candle to make a wish, I would wish that one day I'd get into dream college (boring, I know).

  2. When I was really little, I used to think that an entire world of people lived in my stomach and if I didn't eat a balanced diet, the people would die (and so began the people-pleasing).

  3. I love meeting new people but have always been afraid of strangers. I really do consider myself an extroverted introvert and sometimes starting a new conversation is pretty anxiety-inducing.

  4. I hate doing things in odd numbers, I really don't have a fourth random fact to stick in here but it feels wrong to break my own patterns in an introduction.


Now that you know a little more about me, some details stranger than others, I need your help in making this blog more than just an avenue for a talkative twenty-something. So I beg you to challenge me. Call me out on my mistakes. Question my thought processes, especially if they differ from your own. Share your passions and please never hesitate to start a deeper conversation.

I wrote my first article about the dangers of social media because it's something I think about all of the time. I am so thankful that the kids in my life have incredibly active and caring parents who understand the dangers of the internet. While this is a huge blessing, I am so aware that there are MANY other children around the world without that same blessing. In the few days since writing that article, my brain has been racing and the more I research (see first line) the more I want to act.

This insomnia-inducing desire to know more is the purpose of this blog. I hope to use my love for writing to ignite a fire in your brain, and in my brain too and maybe, just maybe, some incredible solution to an every-day problem will result from our long-winded rant sessions.

bottom of page